Muladhara Chakra

Swadhistana Chakra

Manipura Chakra

 Anahata Chakra

Vishuddha Chakra

Ajna Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra


Raja Yoga
Jnana Yoga
Bhakti Yoga
Hatha Yoga
Karma Yoga
Other Yogas

karma Yoga (Yoga of Duty)

Karma means not only action, but also the result of an action. Karma yoga focuses on the devotion to duty (dharma) while remaining detached from the reward and consequences. Karma Yoga is selfless service unto humanity. Karma yogi works and performs his duties selflessly and by doing so attains the liberation and realization. Karma yoga is based on the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita where Lord Krishna tells his disciple an friend, Arjuna - without being attached to the fruits of activities, one should act as a matter of duty, for by working without attachment one attains the Supreme'. Then Krisna also says 'Therefore, O Arjuna, surrendering all your works unto Me, with full knowledge of Me, without desires for profit, with no claims to proprietorship, and free from lethargy, fight'.

This is the Law of Karma. Behind the action, there are desire and thought. A desire for an object arises in the mind. Desire produces Karma. You work and try to acquire the objects of your desire. Karma produces its fruits as pain or pleasure. To reap the fruits of your Karma one keeps passing through the never ending cycle of births and deaths. Only those who perform absolute selfless work detached from the reward and consequences come out of this eternal cycle and achieve Moksha. Destiny is created by man's thoughts, habits and character. There is every chance for his correction and improvement by changing his thoughts and habits.