Muladhara Chakra

Swadhistana Chakra

Manipura Chakra

 Anahata Chakra

Vishuddha Chakra

Ajna Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra
Raja Yoga
Jnana Yoga
Bhakti Yoga
Hatha Yoga
Karma Yoga
Other Yogas recommends:   

Bhagwad Geeta & Other Religious Records -A religio-philosophical Analysis
By - Prof. S.K. Roy

To buy this book use the discount code : LBDHN8JC  and get a $ 2.00 discount


Ancient science of Yoga originated in India thousands of years ago. 'Yoga Sutras'  were described over 4,000 years ago by various Indian sages and assembled into one text by the Indian sage, Patanjali, around 200 B.C.

The classical Indian yoga system is divided into:

  • Raja Yoga - Classic yoga of meditation

  • Jnana Yoga - The Yoga of knowledge

  • Bhakti Yoga- The Yoga of devotion

  • Hatha Yoga - Yoga of exercise with emphasis on control of body and mind through exercise (asana) and breathing (pranayama)

  • Karma Yoga - Yoga of individuals actions and deeds

Modern Yoga parishioners have modified some of these classical Yoga systems and come up with systems like Tantrik Yoga, Yantra Yoga, Laya Yoga, Swar Yoga, Chakra Yoga, Kunadalini Yoga, Mantra Yoga, Purna Yoga, Sahaja Yoga, Agni Yoga, Anahata Yoga,  Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, Integral yoga � Kriya yoga,  Natya Yoga, Shabd Yoga, Viniyoga, etc.


Patanjali yoga sutra form the core of the system known as "Ashtanga Yoga" ("Eight-Limbed Yoga").  The 8 limbs can be used as a general guide for the practice of yoga. The eight limbs include;

  • Yama (first limb) - It is about individual�s ethical standards and way of behaving. It focuses on:

    • Ahinsaa (non-violence)

    • Satya (truthfulness)

    • Astaya (non-covetousness)

    • Brahmacharya (non sensuality)

    • Aparigraha (non possessiveness)

  • Niyam (second limb) - focuses on

    • Isvara Pranidhana: surrender to God

    • Samtosa: contentment.

    • Saucha: purity of the body and thoughts.

    • Svadhyaya: the study of sacred texts

    • Tapas: spiritual austerities

  • Aasana (third limb) - Literally means seat but includes body positions and exercises associated with Yoga

  • Pranayama  (the 4th limb) - 'Prana' means life force or breathing and energy flow. It includes breath control and breathing techniques

  • Pratyahaar (5th limb) - Deals with control of the senses

  • Dharna (6th limb)- It is the ability to concentrate at any place outside or inside the body

  • Dhyan (7th limb) - Meditation

  • Samaadhi (8th limb) - consciousness merges with the object of meditation